Still applies, tragically

I put off writing the whole weekend because I had too much to say,
when I tried to put it into words, they just upped and wriggled away
off the page.

I tried speaking about it – I thought that saying it aloud
would clarify my feelings, and separate the crowd
milling in my mind.

See, I personally don’t have all that much to lose,
and even though this situation isn’t what I’d choose,
it’s not such a big thing for ME.

I stopped because I knew you’d say: “Man, you’re so damn boring
with all this talk of truth, and how we’re whoring
our freedom away to the lowest bidders”

“Who cares about the facts today – who cares about disruption,
What kind of fool imagines that there’s power with no corruption?
Grow up already.”

“We’re in agreement, that’s what counts – unity is all”,
all I can think is: “Yeah, and together we fall,
just wish someone had asked me”.

I finally got to the root of my fears, figured out the source of my sorrow:
We’ll talk all night til I’m persuaded that the earth will be flat tomorrow –
and the moon is made of cheese.

To preserve the carefully constructed image we show to neighbours and friends
I’ll pretend no-one beats me, that nothing ever changes or ends –
bet you they’ll believe us.

And we’ll laugh because we’ve foxed them, they’ve bought the whole farm,
worst is we’ve foxed ourselves – therein lies the real harm –
into believing that this is NORMAL. (written 2008)

Angry-Makes-Stupid

Leave a Reply

